​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Team Members by Research Area​


Bioenergy Leadership Team

​William Bauer, Ph.D.
Department Manager, Chemical and Radiation Measurements
Department Manager, Bioenergy Technologies  Department Manager, Biological and Chemical Processing Department
Kevin Kenney
Lab Relationship Manager, EERE Bioenergy Technologies Office
Richard Hess, Ph.D.
Director, EERE Program


Bioenergy Research Teams

Particle Mechanics

Group Lead Business Development

​Jaya Tumuluru, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Tyler Westover, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist/Engineer
Luke WIlliams, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Sergio Hernandez
Research Specialist
Austin Murphy
Research Staff
Eric Fillerup
Research Staff
​​Rachel Colby
R&D Technician



​David Thompson, Ph.D.
Distinguished Staff Engineer
Damon Hartley, Ph.D.
Research Staff
Jason Hansen, Ph.D.
Modeling and Simulation
Roni Mohammed, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Patrick Lamers, Ph.D.
Systems Analyst
Mike Griffel
Agricultural Research Analyst


Process Development Unit

Quang Nguyen
Group Lead
Patrick Bonebright
Electrical and Controls Engineer
Eric Egan
Lab Space Coordinator
​Neal Yancey
Research Engineer
Cody Scheer
Laboratory Technician
Matt Dee
Mechanical Engineer
Marnie Cortez
Principal Engineering Lab Technician
Tim Djernes​
Laboratory Technician
Dana Scouten
Craig Conner
Field Engineer


Biomass Characterization

Distinguished Research Scientist
Amber Hoover
Research Scientist
​Rachel Emerson
Research Scientist
​Lorenzo Vega Montoto, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
​Chenlin Li, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

 Kastli Schaller
Preprocessing Researcher


Advanced Preprocessing

Vicki Thompson, Ph.D.
Distinguished Staff Engineer
John Aston, Ph.D.
Staff Engineer

Jeff Lacey, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist
​William Smith
Research Scientist
​Brad Wahlen, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Aaron Wilson, Ph.D.
Research Chemist
Lynn Wendt
Research Scientist